ABOUT US

The Atlantic Provinces Trial Lawyers Association is a plaintiff-oriented organization dedicated to obtaining legal redress for those who have suffered injury or injustice, and to preserving the rights of the injured to full and fair compensation. Primarily, APTLA is a network of like thinking trial lawyers, sharing their wealth of knowledge and experiences. APTLA speaks with one voice on matters of concern to plaintiff-oriented lawyers and their clients. APTLA was formed with three fundamental purposes in mind:

  • to form a network of like thinking trial lawyers who would share among its members their wealth of knowledge and experiences;
  • to work to preserve innocent victims’ rights to tort recovery and to directly oppose tort recovery restrictions and work to correct the erosion of rights around the region; and,
  • to establish first class skill-sharpening legal education programs which are inspirational, highly relevant, and impart to plaintiff trial lawyers skills and information directly related to their practices. 

The Atlantic Provinces Trial Lawyers Association has an active and vibrant Young Lawyers Section, that supports Law Students and Clerks, and Lawyers in their first four years of practice. We offer our YLS Members a private ListServ for communicating amongst themselves about their work and we also offer significant discounts for YLS Members attending our legal education conferences.

APTLA is committed to political action to preserve the rights of accident victims and plaintiffs. We perform this work through our Access To Justice (A2J) Committee. The A2J is APTLA's fundraising arm for non-operational expenses. We have regular contributors and specific event related contributors. Generally, the funding takes the form of special projects and initiatives. A2J funds are in place to ensure that APTLA can follow through when and where needed with regard to seeking justice and fighting back against threats to access to justice. APTLA Members can click on the above link to review more information regarding A2J or click here to make a donation to the A2J Fund.

 

Executive 

 President  David Brannen (NB)  dbrannen@resolutelegal.ca
 Vice President  Ernest Gittens  egittens@gittenslaw.com
 Vice President Elect  John Maynard  john.maynard@keymurraylaw.com
 Treasurer  Ray Wagner, Q.C. (NS)  raywagner@wagners.co
  Past President  Brian Hebert (NS)  bhebert@mckigganhebert.com
 Parliamentarian  Jim Hughes, Q.C. (NL)  hughes.brannan@nfld.net

 

Executive Director 

 Elizabeth Ann (Libby) Kinghorne, Esq.  libbykinghorne@aptla.ca

 

Board of Directors 

 John McKiggan, Q.C.  Nova Scotia  john@mckigganhebert.com
 Jeff Mitchell  Nova Scotia  jeff@novainjurylaw.com
 David Gauthier  New Brunswick  dgg@gauthierlaw.ca
 Chris Correia, Q.C.  New Brunswick  chris.correia@correiaandcollins.com
 Jean-Daniel Comeau  New Brunswick  jdcomeau@fidelislaw.ca
 Cynthia Taylor  Prince Edward Island  cynthia.taylor@keymurraylaw.com
 John Brennan  Prince Edward Island  jbrennan@mclellanbrennan.com
 Gerald Ralph  Newfoundland  gerald@centrallaw.ca
 Bob Buckingham  Newfoundland  bob@buckinghamlaw.ca
     
     
     

   

Education Chair

 David Brannen  dbrannen@resolutelegal.ca

 

Young Lawyer Section Chair

 Daniel Wood  daniel@lenehanmusgravelaw.ca